jump Index ScientificPsychic.com
Scientific Psychic

Memoir of the Leningrad Blockade
Anna Khodikel

Anna Khodikel
Anna Khodikel - 2008

How the war started

The war began on June 22, 1941. It was a Sunday. I worked as a chemist in the laboratory of the factory Krasny Khimik (Red Chemist) in the city of Leningrad. On this day, I was on call working alone, and only at 12 o'clock during my lunch break, when I went to the dining room, I heard from a loud-speaker the terrible news that the Soviet Union was being attacked by the Germans and they were bombing our cities. Of course, I was very scared.

I had three small children from 2 to 5 years of age, and I was expecting another one. I did not have any place or anybody to go to outside of Leningrad, so I remained at home. On July 5th, my husband, Michael Pesin, left as a volunteer to the front. On July 27, I gave birth to a daughter, and I definitely had to stay in Leningrad with the children and my mother. Soon, the Germans began to bomb Leningrad, dropping incendiary bombs on residential buildings. The people living in these apartments were mostly women and children. Everywhere, there were people on duty on the roofs and in the attics. They extinguished the bombs by covering them with sand or they dumped them to the ground.

Michael Pesin 
Michael Pesin 

The first bombardment was on the 8th of September 1941, and it burned the Badaevsky food warehouses. These warehouses had held huge stockpiles of products intended for the city, and therefore, when the Germans surrounded Leningrad, the famine started. People who did not work received 125 grams of bread, and children received 150 grams. We received some food products using ration cards, but they never lasted long enough, and people began dying of hunger. I started going to the market to try to exchange everything that was possible for food products to try to save my children from starvation. We lived on the fifth floor of an apartment building, and at one point a corner of our building was hit by a bomb and the entire ceiling collapsed. We had to move to a single room on the first floor. The room was small, dark, and the glass in the window had been broken; it was necessary to board it up with plywood. The apartment already did not have electricity and there was no water either. For water, we had to go to the river Neva with a bucket, and instead of electricity for lighting, we had a wick lamp which consisted of a saucer with some kind of oil and a wick made from cotton. The lamp always smoked, and we walked around with black noses. During the bombing raids I took the children to hide in a bomb shelter. There, I had a bed for the children and two chairs for me and my mother. I always had with me a backpack with a bottle of water, a package of cookies, a bar of chocolate, and diapers for the baby. I thought that this could save us from death until help arrived if we got buried in the bomb shelter and we might not be able to get out.

One time, I went to the market and at this time the bombing started. We were not permitted to walk in the streets during the bombing raids, and I decided to hide in the vestibule of a big building. A lot of people were already there and they did not want me because they said that they were already so crowded that they could not breathe. I did not want to argue, and I went to the other side of the street and I stood under the gate of another building. Ten minutes later, I heard the whistling of a bomb and it fell on the building from where I got expelled. All the people who were in the vestibule died. I was in shock, and I could hardly go home to the children. I could not believe that I was still alive. The Germans bombed Leningrad daily, at the same time every morning and evening, and they also started shelling the city every day. Shells exploded in the streets and killed people. It was frightening to go out. Many people died of hunger. Walking in the yard with the children, I saw the janitors go into the apartments and then bring down the dead into the yard to pile them in stacks on the ground. Later, a truck would come to take them away to the Piskarevskoe cemetery.

When winter started, nobody cleaned the snow from the streets, trolleys did not run, there was no electricity, and as before, we went to get water from the river Neva. This was difficult. In winter it was slippery everywhere, the ice was not removed, people fell then stood up and carried their water home. Some people used hand-held containers and others used buckets on sleds. To avoid starving, we went to nearby villages, dug in abandoned fields for small potatoes, and collected frozen cabbage leaves. We brought all this home, boiled it, and ate it. And again, we tried to exchange everything we could with the farmers for food products. One time, my husband came from the front and brought us a loaf of bread and some cereal grains. This was a great pleasure and support because we were already very weak and could barely walk. My relatives also helped us as much as they could. Once they brought us a sunflower cake which is a by-product of sunflower oil extraction, we ground it into flour and made pancakes. In general, we kept going as best we could and survived even though we were scared, cold and hungry.

On the 27th of January, 1943 our troops broke through the blockade of Leningrad and it became easier to live. Availability of bread and food products increased. The bombing and shooting stopped. Kindergartens were opened where our young children were treated and fed. Gradually, we returned to normal life and improved our health somewhat. I was lucky. My children and I survived. My husband returned from the front wounded but alive, and after the war, I gave him a son.

Click here for Anna's recipe for Piroshki

© Copyright  - Antonio Zamora

jump Index ScientificPsychic.com
Scientific Psychic

Воспоминания о блокаде Ленинграда
Анна Ходикель

Анна Ходикель
Анна Ходикель - 2008

Как Началась война

22 июня 1941 года началась война. Это было воскресенье. Я работала лаборантом в лаборатории завода Красный Химик в городе Ленинграде. В этот день я была дежурная, работала одна и только в 12 часов дня, в обеденный перерыв, когда спустилась в столовую обедать услышала из репродуктора страшные слова о том, что на Советский Союз напали Немцы и бомбят наши города. Конечно, я очень испугалась.

У меня было трое маленьких детей от 2х до 5ти лет и я опять ждала ребенка. Уезжать из Ленинграда мне было некуда и некому, и я осталась дома. 5 июля мой муж, Михаил Песин, ушёл добровольцем на фронт, а 27 июля у меня родилась дочь, и я окончательно осталась в Ленинграде с детьми и мамой. В скором времени немцы стали бомбить Ленинград, сбрасывая зажигательные бомбы на жилые дома. Жильцы этих домов в основном женщины и дети. Везде, на крышах и чердаках дежурили люди. Они тушили бомбы зарывая их в песок или сбрасывали их на землю.

Михаил Песин 
Михаил Песин 

Первая бомбежка была 8го сентября 1941 года, горели Бадаевские продовольственные склады. На этих складах сгорели огромные запасы продуктов предназначенные для города и поэтому, когда немцы окружили Ленинград, начался голод. Те люди, которые не работали получали хлеба 125 грамм, дети получали 150 грамм. Получали по карточкам немного продуктов, но их хватало не надолго и люди стали умирать от голода. Я стала ходить на рынок и менять все, что только было можно на продукты, чтобы спасти от голода своих малышей. Мы жили в квартире на 5ом этаже и однажды в угол нашего дома попала бомба и потолок весь рухнул. Пришлось нам переезжать на первый этаж в одну комнату. Комната была маленькая, темная, стекла выбиты, пришлось заколачивать окно фанерой. Электричества в доме уже небыло, воды тоже. За водой ходили на Неву с ведром, а вместо электричества на столе стояла каптилка, это блюдечко с каким то маслом, а в нем сделанный из ваты фитилек. Он всегда коптел и поэтому мы все ходили с черными носами. Во время бомбежки я с детьми пряталась в бомбоубежище. У меня там стояла кровать для детей и 2 стула для меня и мамы. С собой всегда был рюкзак где лежали: бутылка с водой, пачка печенья, плитка шоколада и пеленки для малыша. Мне казалось, что это спасет нас от смерти пока придет помощь если нас засыпет в бомбоубежищи и нам будет из него не выйти.

А однажды со мной произошел такой случай: я пошла на рынок и в это время началась бомбежка. Ходить по улице во время бомбежки не разрешалось и я решила спрятаться в парадной одного большого дома. Народу в парадной было много и меня туда не захотели пустить говоря, что и так тесно и нечем дышать. Я не стала спорить и ушла на другую сторону улицы и встала под ворота другого дома. Минут через 10 я услышала свист бомбы и она упала в тот дом от куда меня выгнали. Все люди, которые находились в парадной погибли. У меня был шок, я еле пришла домой к детям и не верила, что осталась жива. Немцы бомбили Ленинград ежедневно, в одно и тоже время утром и вечером, а потом начались обстрелы города тоже ежедневно. Снаряды разрывались на улицах и убивали людей. Было страшно выходить на улицу. Очень много людей умирали от голода. Гуляя во дворе с детьми я видела, как дворники ходили по квартирам и оттуда выносили мертвых во двор и складывали их штабелями на земле, а потом приезжала машина и увозила их на Пискарёвское кладбище.

Началась зима, снег на улицах никто не убирал, трамваи не ходили, небыло электричества, по прежнему ходили за водой на Неву. Это было трудно. Зимой везде скользко, лед не скалывали и люди падали, вставали и тащили воду домой, кто в руках в бидончиках, а кто на саночках в ведре. Чтобы не умереть с голоду мы ходили в деревню, забирались на брошеные огороды, выкапывали мелкую, брошеную картошку, и собирали мерзлые листья капусты. Все приносили домой, варили и ели. И опять меняли у крестьян все, что еще можно было обменять на продукты. Однажды с фронта приехал мой муж и привез нам буханку хлеба и немного крупы. Эта была большая радость и поддержка так как мы уже были очень слабые и еле ходили. Мои родственники, как могли поддерживали нас. Однажды привезли нам жмыхи, мы ее мололи на муку и пекли лепешки. Вообщем держались как могли и выжили, хотя и было страшно, холодно и голодно.

27я января 1943 года наши войска прорвали блокаду Ленинграда и жить стало легче. Прибавили хлеба и продуктов. Перестали нас бомбить и обстреливать. Открылись детские сады, где лечили и подкармливали наших маленьких детей. Постепенно мы возвращались к нормальной жизни, понемножку укрепляя свое здоровье. Мне повезло, я и мои дети остались живы. Муж вернулся с фронта раненый но живой, и после войны я подарила ему сына.



© Copyright  - Antonio Zamora

English